Our Days

     Some days are just more fun than others, aren’t they? Most of the time, I try to live in a fairytale where life is lovely and messes just plain don’t exist. I do a pretty good job at focusing on the pretty and ignoring the mess. This is a skill I’ve worked hard to acquire the last 19 years of motherhood. When you have 5 kids, it’s  a very good skill to have. The only problem is, no matter how good I am at ignoring them,

                the messes are still there.

     My bible reading this week, has me thinking a lot about faith and works. When my husband and I were in full time ministry, it was easy for me see the work I was doing for His kingdom. When I worked at a crisis pregnancy clinic, it felt the same. Pouring our lives into others has always been the way we operate. 

     We just moved our family to a new state where we literally know no one, and while I love each new adventure, this girl gets very lonely very quickly. I’m a social girl, and like to be right in the middle of the fun. Right now, it’s easy to feel like I I’m totally missing out. When I mentioned to my husband that I was desperately ready to find a new church home and get plugged into ministry again, he sweetly reminded me that my work at home is no less important. 

Caring for our home and our children is sacred work.



Nothing you do for the Lord is ever useless.

NOTHING you ever do for the Lord is ever useless.

Home life is a messy business and little things can pile up quickly. The funny thing is, most of the time it’s the little things that overwhelm me. When big things happen, I’m pretty quick to approach the throne with a great big “Help Me!” but when the small things grow to the point of desperation, I just want to lay down and take a nap. 

I’m not alone here, am I? Solidarity, sisters!

Maybe you are in the same boat. I’m here to remind you, as I have been reminded, that your work is sacred and necessary. Folding the laundry can further His kingdom. Crazy, right? How? It’s because of the love in which it’s performed. 

How would our daily lives change if we lived and spoke to each other like this was true? Tell your friends. Tell your children. Teach them now so that God will be invited into their little things too.

Maybe this week, as you stare down the dishes, or the laundry, or the kid who’s been driving you crazy all day, you can ask God to remind you that it’s not about the greatness of the work, it’s all about the LOVE. 

4 thoughts on “Our Days

  1. I am so proud of these words!!! I’m totally with you both the lonely part and the work of family being precious and lasting and possible more influential than any other ministry endeavor. You do both well my friend.

    Like

  2. Hi Shaundra! I work for ForEveryMom.com, a Christian parenting site, and I love this post so much! (I’m also a fellow Hope*Writer!) I would love to share this post with our readers. With your permission, we’d republish it on our site, giving you full credit as author, linking back to the original post, and including your bio and head shot. What do you think? πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

