Who’s With Me?

This week, I began a new Precept study in Exodus. I love inductive bible study! I love how marking each word makes the pages come alive, but even more, I love how the Holy Spirit brings those words to life in my heart. It always reminds me of the moment I find out that I am expecting. Many women wait months and months to share the news, but for me, that always seemed like pure torture. When I read God’s word, I feel the same. I’m expecting again, each word growing inside me until I can’t wait another moment to tell someone! So I write, someone reads and, hopefully, the words also begin to come alive for them too.


 

Here’s how the story goes… Moses has been living in Midian for a while after having run away from Egypt because he killed an Egyptian guard. Get that? Moses is a murderer and a run away. Not exactly the type of person you’d want signed up for a big job like saving an entire nation, right? Well, praise God, He uses the least likely people to do some His most important work. Moses is nothing fancy. He used to be the adopted grandson of Pharaoh, but now he’s just a simple shepherd. Then, all of a sudden, God calls him and gives him a new job.

 

Exodus 3: 10 “Therefore, come now, and I will send you to Pharaoh, so that you may bring My people, the sons of Israel, out of Egypt.” But Moses said to God, Who am I, that I should go to Pharaoh, and that I should bring the sons of Israel out of Egypt?”

And He said, “Certainly I will be with you, and this shall be the sign to you that I have sent you: when you have brought the people out of Egypt, you shall worship God at this mountain.”

Then Moses said to God, “Behold, I am going to the sons of Israel, and will say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you.’ Now they may say to me ‘What is His name?’ What shall I say to them?”

God said to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM”; and He said “Thus you shall say to the sons of Israel ‘I AM has sent me to you.'”

 

When God called Moses to lead His people out of their slavery and oppression, Moses had a few questions. Isn’t it funny how we think we have the right to all of God’s knowledge and information? Does anyone get frustrated when a kid asks them why? Luckily, the God of the universe is much more patient than we are! The thing that sticks out to me though is God’s answer. So lets look at this again…

Moses: “Who am I???”

God: “I will be with you.”

 

Yeah, not exactly the answer to the question, right? When you come to God with questions about your own calling, does He give you a big hug and try to make you feel better about yourself? Nope. God could’ve said, ” look, you are Pharaoh’s grandson. I think these people might be willing to hear what you have to say. I know you’ve made some mistakes, but I’m willing to overlook them and see how far we can get.” It might’ve made Moses feel a little better, but it probably wouldn’t get him very far once he got to Egypt and Pharaoh didn’t budge. Instead, God tells him who HE is and that He is going to be with him.

What you may want is a pep talk, but what you really need to know is Who’s with you.


 

“God, I barely passed high school English, how could I possibly be a writer?”

“I will be with you”

“God, when you decided to make me a mother, why didn’t you tell me the heartbreak that would come with it?”

“I will be with you.”

“God, how could I possibly move my wife and children so far away from home to a job you haven’t given me yet?

“I will be with you.”

“God, when I surrendered to the ministry, why didn’t you tell me you would change the plans halfway through?”

“I will be with you.”

 

Why is that His answer? Because that’s all you need to know.

Your life isn’t lived through your understanding or your power. It’s lived through HIS.


Is it frustrating when He doesn’t give you the timetable or the how? Yep. The thing is, if He did, many of us would say, “Yeah… no thanks. Sounds too hard, I’ll just hang here.” *fist bump*

The thing is, if you know WHO sent you (vs. 14) and that He will be WITH you, you have everything you need to complete the task. I AM. Take it or leave it. Simple yet profound. If I AM goes with you, you have everything you need to type those words, preach that message, move that family, or hold out that ridiculous wooden stick and part the mighty waters.

If you have Him, you have all you need. 

 

2 thoughts on “Who’s With Me?

Leave a Reply

